Superstar Pro Field to Race Ford Ironman Arizona

Wellington Highlights Stacked Ford Ironman

Arizona Field

A Superstar Professional Field to Race at Ford Ironman Arizona

Published Monday, November 15, 2010

The seventh edition of Ford Ironman Arizona includes one of the strongest professional fields a domestic Ironman event has seen in years. The men’s race is highlighted by defending champion, Jordan Rapp, Denmark’s Rasmus Henning, Germany’s Maik Twelsiek and Americans Chris Lieto and Matt Reed. An equally stacked women’s field includes Great Britain’s Chrissie Wellington (pictured winning Ironman 70.3 Timberman) and Rachel Joyce, Canadian Heather Wurtele, Hungarian Erika Csomor and American Linsey Corbin.

Rapp, of the U.S., is back to defend his Ford Ironman Arizona title and the course record he set last year. He was involved in a severe bike accident in March and this is one of his first races since the incident. Henning, who spent eight years on the Olympic-distance circuit, finished first at Ironman China and fifth at the Ford Ironman World Championship in 2009, his first year of full-distance racing. After finishing 23rd in Kona last month, Henning is hoping to end the year with a top placement in Tempe. Twelsiek celebrated his first Ironman victory at Ford Ironman Wisconsin in 2007 and won at Ford Ironman Lake Placid in 2009. Lieto has finished in the top 10 at the Ford Ironman World Championship three times, highlighted by a second-place finish in 2009. This year, Lieto took the titles at K-Swiss Ironman 70.3 Kansas, Ironman 70.3 Buffalo Springs Lake and Ironman 70.3 Vineman.   Reed, a skilled short-course triathlete and Olympian, hopes to find success in his first attempt at the full distance.

Wellington, a three-time Ironman World Champion, surprised many when she pulled out of this year’s Ford Ironman World Championship on race morning due to illness. Ford Ironman Arizona marks her first time racing in a domestic qualifier event. Corbin’s resume includes a fifth-place finish at the 2008 Ford Ironman World Championship and the win at this year’s Ford Ironman Coeur d’Alene, her first full-distance title. In 2008, during her second year as a pro, Wurtele won Ford Ironman Coeur d’Alene with a time of 9:38:58. Csomor, the winner of the April 2008 edition of this race, is also a title holder at Ironman 70.3 Austria and Ironman 70.3 California. Last year, Joyce placed third at Spec-Savers Ironman South Africa, second at Ironman Lanzarote Canarias and, most notably, sixth at Ford Ironman World Championship. She returned to Kona this year and again claimed sixth place.

Approximately 2,500 athletes representing 50 states and 30 countries are expected to race in the seventh-annual event. Ford Ironman Arizona offers a total professional prize purse of $50,000 and 65 qualifying slots to the 2011 Ford Ironman World Championship, to be held in Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, on Oct. 8, 2011.

Pro Men
Jordan Rapp
Jozsef Major
Chris Lieto
Maik Twelsiek
Max Longree
Jan Raphael
Rasmus Henning
Timo Bracht
Matty Reed
Sergio ENRIQUE Quezeda Ruiz
Tim Snow
Juan Carlos Ramirez

David Kahn
Mike Caiazzo
Sickl Heinrich
Eric Daniel Bean
Kirk Nelson
Dion Harrison
Patrick Bless
Bruno Clerbout
Marco Schreck
Mike J Schifferle
Leon Griffin
Frank Vytrisal
Daniel Bretscher
Jesse Vondracek
Devon Palmer
Jozef Vrabel
Ian Mikelson
Anthony C Toth
Trevor Wurtele
Matjaz Kovac
Dantley Young
Matthew Russell
Torsten L Abel
Eneko Elosegui
John Dahlz
Lewis Elliot
Jimmy Archer
Stijn Demeulemeester
James Bonney
Kevin Everett
Karl Bordine
Adam O’Meara
Jerzy Kasemier
Tom Lowe
Marek Nemcik
Brandon Marsh
Paul Amey
Jonathan Caron
Eric Sullivan
Jordan Bryden
Raymond Botelho
Blake Becker
Joe McDaniel

Pro Women:
Chrissie Wellington
Heleen bij de Vaate
Erika Csomor
Meredith Brooke Keeran Kessler
Linsey Nora Corbin
Heather Wurtele
Nina Kraft
Leanda R Cave
Terra Joy Castro
Yasuko Miyazaki
Beatrix Blattmann
Mackenzie Renee Madison
Uli Bromme
Rachel Sarah Joyce
Megan June Gaskill
Lauren Harrison
Annett Kamenz
Rachel Kiers
Jocelyn Wong
Miranda Hardwick Alldritt
Lyne Bessette
Stacey Richardson
Chrissy Parks
Molly Hummell

Originally from:

Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • Y!GG
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • Facebook
  • TwitThis

Leave a Reply